“旅行”一词的起源很可能已被历史遗忘。 “旅行”一词可能源自古法语单词travail,意思是“工作”。根据 Merriam Webster 词典,旅行这个词的首次使用是在 14 世纪。它还指出,这个词来自中古英语 travailen、travelen(意思是折磨、劳动、努力、旅程),更早的时候来自古法语 travailler(意思是努力工作、辛劳)。

在英语中,我们仍然偶尔会使用“travail”这个词,意思是挣扎。根据 Simon Winchester 在他的著作 The Best Travelers' Tales (2004) 中的说法,“旅行”和“苦难”这两个词都有一个更古老的词根:一种叫做 tripalium 的罗马刑具(在拉丁语中,它的意思是“三根木桩” ,如刺穿)。

这个环节可能反映了古代旅行的极度困难。
今天,旅行可能会或不会更容易,这取决于您选择的目的地(例如珠穆朗玛峰、亚马逊雨林)、您计划如何到达那里(旅游巴士、游轮或牛车),以及您是否决定“粗暴”(参见极限旅游和探险旅行)。旅行作家迈克尔·卡苏姆 (Michael Kasum) 指出:“单纯的旅游者与真正的世界旅行者之间存在很大差异”。然而,正如有关旅行文化和社会学的学术著作所指出的,这是一个有争议的区别。

12 日

天安门是皇城城墙上的一座城门,始建于明朝1415年。在...

7 日 - 6 夜

天安门是皇城城墙上的一座城门,始建于明朝1415年。在...

6 日 - 5 夜

天安门是皇城城墙上的一座城门,始建于明朝1415年。在...

12 日

天安门是皇城城墙上的一座城门,始建于明朝1415年。在...

12 日

天安门是皇城城墙上的一座城门,始建于明朝1415年。在...

8 日 - 7 夜

2022年出发日期:每周三(05/04-10/05);三五(06/15-0/12) 保证停黄石公园15大景点!! 3天2公园,保证15个黄大石景点!免费升级黄石远景木屋酒店,欣赏日出,远景木屋酒店!入住黄石公园内,保证在最佳时间看最美的黄石! (周三,拉斯维加斯)洛杉矶、盐湖城任意进出由人!

7 日 - 6 夜

天安门是皇城城墙上的一座城门,始建于明朝1415年。在...

精选
, 1 日 - 1 夜

1800BOOK团体票专家!

$500

3 日 - 2 夜

另一次旅行

$3,000

7 日 - 6 夜

dsfdgdfz

加载更多行程
zh_CN简体中文

The origin of the word “travel” is most likely lost to history. The term “travel” may originate from the Old French word travail, which means ‘work’. According to the Merriam Webster dictionary, the first known use of the word travel was in the 14th century. It also states that the word comes from Middle English travailen, travelen (which means to torment, labor, strive, journey) and earlier from Old French travailler (which means to work strenuously, toil).

In English we still occasionally use the words “travail”, which means struggle. According to Simon Winchester in his book The Best Travelers’ Tales (2004), the words “travel” and “travail” both share an even more ancient root: a Roman instrument of torture called the tripalium (in Latin it means “three stakes”, as in to impale).

This link may reflect the extreme difficulty of travel in ancient times.
Today, travel may or may not be much easier depending upon the destination you choose (e.g. Mt. Everest, the Amazon rainforest), how you plan to get there (tour bus, cruise ship, or oxcart), and whether you decide to “rough it” (see extreme tourism and adventure travel). “There’s a big difference between simply being a tourist and being a true world traveler”, notes travel writer Michael Kasum. This is, however, a contested distinction as academic work on the cultures and sociology of travel has noted.

12 Days

The Tiananmen, a gate in the wall of the Imperial City, was built in 1415 during the Ming dynasty. In...

7 Days - 6 Nights

The Tiananmen, a gate in the wall of the Imperial City, was built in 1415 during the Ming dynasty. In...

6 Days - 5 Nights

The Tiananmen, a gate in the wall of the Imperial City, was built in 1415 during the Ming dynasty. In...

12 Days

The Tiananmen, a gate in the wall of the Imperial City, was built in 1415 during the Ming dynasty. In...

12 Days

The Tiananmen, a gate in the wall of the Imperial City, was built in 1415 during the Ming dynasty. In...

8 Days - 7 Nights

2022年出发日期: 每周三(05/04-10/05); 每周三五(06/15-0/12) 保证停留黄石公园15大景点!! 3天2晚黄石公园,保证15大景点! 免费升级黄石景区木屋酒店,赏日出日落,景区木屋酒店! 入住黄石公园内,保证在最佳时间看最美的黄石! (仅限周三) 洛杉矶、拉斯维加斯、盐湖城任意进出,丰俭由人!

7 Days - 6 Nights

The Tiananmen, a gate in the wall of the Imperial City, was built in 1415 during the Ming dynasty. In...

Featured
, 1 Day - 1 Night

We specialized for group tickets!

$500

3 Days - 2 Nights

another trip

$3,000

7 Days - 6 Nights

dsfdgdfz

Load More Trips
en_USEnglish